About us

The Lieurance Woodwind Quintet has firmly established its reputation in the Midwest as a premiere chamber ensemble. More than a regional quintet, the group maintains an active teaching and perfoming schedule, including concerts, radio broadcasts, seminars, and workshops at home and abroad.

The Lieurance Woodwind Quintet takes its name from Thurlow Lieurance, a Kansas composer and noted historian of Native American music, who served as the first dean of the College of Fine Arts at Wichita State University. The members of the quintet serve as faculty artists at WSU and also as principal players in the Wichita Symphony Orchestra. The ensemble has been received enthusiastically concertizing at major musical venues, including the Library of Congress and Phillips Collection in Washington D.C., the Merkin and Carnegie Recital Halls in New York City, Composers, Inc. in San Francisco, and throughout Europe and Central America. The Lieurance Woodwind Quintet is a 1989 recipient of the Kansas Governor's Arts Award.

For additional information contact

Lieurance Woodwind Quintet
Wichita State University
School of Music, Box 53
Wichita, KS 67260-0053
(316) 978-6598